Home » Categories » Natural Stone Q & A’s

Granite Seams Glued With Epoxy

Q.My granite counter top was glued at the seam with epoxy.
They removed it to replace the cabinets. When they went to reinstall the granite it was at least 1/2 inch off to the left which put the sink cabinet out of align. When asked the installer said they cut the granite as a normal practice to get rid of the epoxy. That there is no other way to remove the epoxy from the sides of the granite and the epoxy must be removed to reinstall.

Now the granite must be replaced due to the sink cabinet no longer lining up.
Is this a normal practice? Is there another way to remove epoxy at the seam?
A. Dont know your whole story but yeah it can be removed using other processes.
Stu Rosen
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
brushed finish and stains
Viewed 0 times since Sun, Jan 20, 2008
Darkening of limestone tiles
Viewed 0 times since Thu, Dec 6, 2007
unpolished marble kitchen floor tiles
Viewed 0 times since Sun, Mar 2, 2008
Thassos White Marble for a Kitchen Counter?
Viewed 0 times since Fri, Feb 1, 2008
buff and polish new installed marble floor
Viewed 0 times since Tue, May 8, 2007
Cracked Travertine Tile
Viewed 0 times since Wed, Jul 22, 2009
dulling and whitening of limestone tile
Viewed 0 times since Tue, Jul 1, 2008
Honed marble Floors and Black Absolute cleaning
Viewed 0 times since Mon, Jul 2, 2007
Discoloration of brand new tumbled tile
Viewed 0 times since Sat, Jul 11, 2009
outdoor canadian granite patio
Viewed 0 times since Mon, Sep 24, 2007