Home » Categories » Natural Stone Q & A’s

Brushed travertine around pool

Hi Maurizio, We will install travertine pavers around our pool and lanaii. We like the look of brushed travertine, however our installer advised against it due to its slippery surface when wet. Is this a real concern? Thanks. Rob Wyder
 

Dear Rob:

Brushed travertine should not be slippery when wet, but “should” is not much a final answer, is it?... The best way to find out before making a decision of that magnitude is to test them tiles!

Have a few brush-finished tiles installed somewhere and then wet them and live-test them for slipperiness.

Better than guess-working and/or listening to some stone guru, don't you think?... J

And, oh, please, don't let anyone apply any impregnating sealer or any other sealer to your travertine, will you?!

May I ask you now to please read and e-sign our Statement of Purpose at: http://www.marblecleaning.org/purpose.htm?

Ciao and good luck,

Mauri z io Bertoli

 

www.marblecleaning.org – The Only Consumers' Portal to the Stone Industry Establishment!
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
jerusalem limestone in new bathroom and shower
Viewed 0 times since Thu, Feb 7, 2008
remove water marks
Viewed 0 times since Mon, Nov 12, 2007
Marble floor cleaning means
Viewed 0 times since Sun, Feb 17, 2008
Honed absolute black countertops
Viewed 0 times since Sun, Dec 30, 2007
To Seal or Not to Seal
Viewed 0 times since Wed, Mar 25, 2009
haze on polished marble?
Viewed 0 times since Tue, Jun 17, 2008
Travertine floor tiles scratched
Viewed 0 times since Wed, Nov 7, 2007
What sealer is best for Natural Slate Pool Coping?
Viewed 0 times since Fri, Aug 3, 2007
granite
Viewed 0 times since Wed, Mar 18, 2009
travertine floor
Viewed 0 times since Thu, Sep 13, 2007