Home » Categories » Natural Stone Q & A’s

Granite Seams Glued With Epoxy

Q.My granite counter top was glued at the seam with epoxy.
They removed it to replace the cabinets. When they went to reinstall the granite it was at least 1/2 inch off to the left which put the sink cabinet out of align. When asked the installer said they cut the granite as a normal practice to get rid of the epoxy. That there is no other way to remove the epoxy from the sides of the granite and the epoxy must be removed to reinstall.

Now the granite must be replaced due to the sink cabinet no longer lining up.
Is this a normal practice? Is there another way to remove epoxy at the seam?
A. Dont know your whole story but yeah it can be removed using other processes.
Stu Rosen
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Stone Counters Outdoors
Viewed 322 times since Fri, Jul 6, 2007
Honed Limestone Countertops Restoration
Viewed 294 times since Sat, Apr 5, 2008
Travertine tile in shower eroding
Viewed 434 times since Mon, Aug 17, 2009
Tumbled marble with porc. tile
Viewed 310 times since Wed, Jun 4, 2008
Travertine in Steam shower
Viewed 325 times since Sat, Jun 14, 2008
Non filled tumbled travertine in shower
Viewed 312 times since Thu, Jan 24, 2008
Limestone floor sealing
Viewed 256 times since Tue, Jul 22, 2008
Cracks and chips in new Thassos floor
Viewed 275 times since Fri, May 30, 2008
honing marble that is polished
Viewed 305 times since Thu, Jun 21, 2007
Smear and haze on marble and granite
Viewed 282 times since Mon, Nov 26, 2007