Home » Categories » Natural Stone Q & A’s

Granite Seams Glued With Epoxy

Q.My granite counter top was glued at the seam with epoxy.
They removed it to replace the cabinets. When they went to reinstall the granite it was at least 1/2 inch off to the left which put the sink cabinet out of align. When asked the installer said they cut the granite as a normal practice to get rid of the epoxy. That there is no other way to remove the epoxy from the sides of the granite and the epoxy must be removed to reinstall.

Now the granite must be replaced due to the sink cabinet no longer lining up.
Is this a normal practice? Is there another way to remove epoxy at the seam?
A. Dont know your whole story but yeah it can be removed using other processes.
Stu Rosen
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Black Uba Tuba light stains
Viewed 564 times since Wed, Oct 31, 2007
Honed vs. Polished Travertine
Viewed 506 times since Mon, Sep 3, 2007
removing Sharpie marks on granite.
Viewed 800 times since Sun, Jul 15, 2007
Tumbled Marble Tiles in Shower Floor
Viewed 450 times since Mon, Oct 22, 2007
Cleaning Crema Marfil Marble
Viewed 3110 times since Tue, Nov 15, 2011
Black Granite Issues
Viewed 540 times since Tue, Jun 19, 2007
Polished Travertine in Hallway and Kitchen
Viewed 485 times since Mon, Nov 26, 2007
Granite sealing
Viewed 446 times since Sat, Aug 4, 2007
cleaning marble from white deposit
Viewed 491 times since Mon, Nov 19, 2007
Sealer
Viewed 469 times since Mon, Jul 23, 2007