Home » Categories » Natural Stone Q & A’s

Granite Seams Glued With Epoxy

Q.My granite counter top was glued at the seam with epoxy.
They removed it to replace the cabinets. When they went to reinstall the granite it was at least 1/2 inch off to the left which put the sink cabinet out of align. When asked the installer said they cut the granite as a normal practice to get rid of the epoxy. That there is no other way to remove the epoxy from the sides of the granite and the epoxy must be removed to reinstall.

Now the granite must be replaced due to the sink cabinet no longer lining up.
Is this a normal practice? Is there another way to remove epoxy at the seam?
A. Dont know your whole story but yeah it can be removed using other processes.
Stu Rosen
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
honed slate on a kitchen floor
Viewed 314 times since Thu, Oct 11, 2007
List of stones not suitable for water-line in pool
Viewed 333 times since Fri, Nov 2, 2007
matte black countertop
Viewed 319 times since Mon, Jan 7, 2008
Honing Powders
Viewed 335 times since Fri, Dec 19, 2008
Travertine installation
Viewed 379 times since Thu, Apr 16, 2009
travertine installation
Viewed 283 times since Tue, Sep 4, 2007
Sealing Travertine Before or After Grouting
Viewed 354 times since Wed, Aug 22, 2007
Candle - Inorganic or Oily Stain?
Viewed 390 times since Wed, Feb 20, 2008
granite crack
Viewed 290 times since Wed, Nov 7, 2007
Stone Counters Outdoors
Viewed 353 times since Fri, Jul 6, 2007