Home » Categories » Natural Stone Q & A’s

Granite windowsills and glycolic acid

Hi,
Q-I have been asked to clean the windows of a new house. Many of the windows contain cement splashes and a solvent I normally use is a product called "Cement off", made by Titan laboratories. This contains Glycolic Acid. The windowsills are white granite. What precautions if any should I use to prevent damging the granite from this product? The product has a Ph of 3.5
A- Hello-Granite is acid resistant inmost cases so the glycolic acid shouldnt etch the stone.
The one acid that will damage granite is hydroflouric acid (hf). You will also want to note that white granites can be extremley porous so check to see what other ingredients are in the product that could cause true staining.
I would make sure that I use a good masking technique to protect the stone anyway just for safety sake.
Stu Rosen
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Black Galaxy countertop proper care
Viewed 0 times since Sun, Apr 6, 2008
travertine for bathroom
Viewed 0 times since Thu, Sep 20, 2007
MB-3 soap film remover on sandstone
Viewed 0 times since Tue, Apr 29, 2008
Sandstone fireplace hearth
Viewed 0 times since Mon, Dec 21, 2009
whats better for my floor
Viewed 0 times since Thu, Oct 1, 2009
Giallo veneziano granite
Viewed 0 times since Sun, May 18, 2008
removing hard water stain from black galaxy
Viewed 0 times since Sun, Sep 16, 2007
Honey Onxy in a shower stall
Viewed 0 times since Mon, Nov 12, 2007
limestone or travertine floor tiles
Viewed 0 times since Fri, Oct 26, 2007
permanent marker stain removal from granite?
Viewed 0 times since Tue, Oct 30, 2007