Home » Categories » Natural Stone Q & A’s

Granite windowsills and glycolic acid

Hi,
Q-I have been asked to clean the windows of a new house. Many of the windows contain cement splashes and a solvent I normally use is a product called "Cement off", made by Titan laboratories. This contains Glycolic Acid. The windowsills are white granite. What precautions if any should I use to prevent damging the granite from this product? The product has a Ph of 3.5
A- Hello-Granite is acid resistant inmost cases so the glycolic acid shouldnt etch the stone.
The one acid that will damage granite is hydroflouric acid (hf). You will also want to note that white granites can be extremley porous so check to see what other ingredients are in the product that could cause true staining.
I would make sure that I use a good masking technique to protect the stone anyway just for safety sake.
Stu Rosen
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Comments Comments
There are no comments for this article. Be the first to post a comment.
Related Articles RSS Feed
indian sandstone pavers
Viewed 411 times since Wed, Nov 21, 2007
Travertine marble stained with colored grout
Viewed 669 times since Mon, Jan 21, 2008
Travertine tiles honerd and filled in shower stall
Viewed 655 times since Fri, Mar 21, 2008
Getting Uba Tuba shiny again?
Viewed 609 times since Sun, Jul 22, 2007
Coloring Travertine?
Viewed 452 times since Wed, Aug 15, 2007
Santafiora
Viewed 543 times since Thu, Sep 20, 2007
travertine/marble in shower
Viewed 631 times since Sun, Jun 1, 2008
Water and Granite floors
Viewed 493 times since Wed, Nov 7, 2007
Granite counter top unlevel at seems
Viewed 600 times since Wed, Mar 25, 2009
SLABS IN SHOWER STALL
Viewed 614 times since Sun, Jun 3, 2007